Beware The Ides Of March

The SEVEN

by Mack Williams

18 October 2022

I’m no soothsayer nor am I saying that the March 15th game between the Memphis Grizzlies and Miami Heat will be a preview of the NBA Finals, but with MLB in the midst of their playoffs and the NBA season beginning in a matter of hours, I thought it was time for a few predictions…so here goes…

MLB

In 1927 when Babe Ruth hit 60 home runs to set the American League single season record (while according to some, “passing” as a white man), the New York Yankees won the World Series. In 1961, when Roger Maris hit 61 to break Babe’s record, the Yanks won the World Series. I’m going to go out on a limb (since a win is needed tonight) and say that this year, since Aaron Judge hit 62 homers to break Maris’ American League record, the Yankees win the World Series.

NBA

Since this is The SEVEN, here are the seven teams that are most likely to become NBA champions in June.

Philadelphia 76ers

A full year of the potentially devastating combination of Joel Embiid and James Harden and Tyrese Maxey could wind up being the reason why Philly fans were asked to trust the process.

And maybe not because of: Injuries

Milwaukee Bucks

As great as he is, Giannis Antetokounmpo couldn’t do it without his Robin…but with Kris Middleton back, they may make it back to the top.

And maybe not because of: Depth

Brooklyn Nets

Any team with Kevin Durant, Kyrie Irving and Ben Simmons has to be considered a potential contender.

And maybe not because of: The drama around those three players.

Memphis Grizzlies

We’re quickly approaching the Ja Morant era of the NBA, if not totally there already. If they keep it together, the championship trophy will reside in Memphis soon, maybe in a matter of months.

And maybe not because of: Timing…it may not quite be their time yet.

Los Angeles Clippers

Any good team with a great and healthy version of Kawhi Leonard is a threat to win the championship. Add in Paul George, John Wall, and an incredibly deep bench, and you definitely have the recipe for a title.

And maybe not because of: Injuries to Kawhi or PG13.

Denver Nuggets

They were really good last season despite the injuries to Jamal Murray and Michael Porter Jr. When they rejoin The Joker, that might be what puts Denver over the top, along with a strong showing from Aaron Gordon.

And maybe not because of: Injuries to any of those big three.

Golden State Warriors

In the words of Ric Flair, in order to be the man, you’ve got to beat the man. If Steph Curry is still at an MVP level, Klay Thompson is back in form, and young studs like Moody and Wiseman and Kuminga are ready to take part in a new portion of the Warriors dynasty, you’ll have to go through them to get the crown.

And maybe not because of: Father Time, or possibly lingering issues from the Draymond Green-Jordan Poole confrontation.

USA

The pundits and prognosticators will tell you what generally happens in a midterm election, which is that the party in power will lose seats. That said, I didn’t write the following piece…found on social media…but have included it as an example of why the Democrats will retain the House and Senate, along with Roe v Wade and attempts at voter suppression and Republican candidate quality (as per Mitch McConnell).

“I’m 14 and I’m struggling in Algebra class. When I ask for help, the male teacher says ‘I’m not surprised, girls aren’t that good at Algebra.’
I’m 18 and go to my first fraternity parties with girlfriends. We don’t ever say it out loud but it’s understood that we need to stick together at these parties and not get separated, for our own safety.
I’m 20 and I’m working as a hostess at the Red Lion Inn in San Jose, near the airport. Men in suits come in to eat after their meetings during the day and I see them take off their wedding rings before heading into the bar next to the restaurant. Every girl who works there learns quickly not to bend too far over because of the short skirts of our uniforms.
I’m 22 and it’s my first day on a new job. My male supervisor gets me into a room alone and I think he’s going to tell me about the job but instead he tells me about how much he likes sex and how he needs to have it every day. I get up and walk out of the room and avoid him after that, but I don’t tell anyone because I’m one of the only women there and I don’t know what to do.
I’m 24 and I’m watching Anita Hill on TV, testifying about a man who wants to be on the Supreme Court. I don’t understand everything I’m watching but I understand that she’s a black woman facing down a panel of white men and she is going to lose because, at 24, I do understand who has power and who does not.
I’m any age in my 20s and I’m walking on the street, in a park, in a city, in a suburb, anywhere. Men tell me to smile, to wait a minute, to slow down what’s my hurry, can I ask you a question, can I stand too close to you, can I demand your space, your time, your attention, hey where you going bitch?
I’m 25. I’m buying my first car and the salesman offers a price I know is way too high. I bring my stepdad to the showroom and the same car is now $3000 less. I smile and buy the car but inside, I’m seething.
I’m any age in my 30’s and I think about where I park, where I go, whether I should get in that elevator that only has one man in it and how I should make sure not to make eye contact with men in the streets. All of this is normal to me and I don’t question any of it.
I’m 35. I’m buying my second car and the salesman says we should wait for my husband to get there before talking about the price but would I like to see the makeup mirror? I tell him I’m a lesbian and, if he’s waiting for my husband, he’s going to be waiting a long time. I leave because I’m learning.
I’m 40 and a woman, Hillary Clinton, is taking a serious run at the Democratic presidential nomination. She’s smart, tough and qualified but she endures endless anger, viciousness, and misogyny and she eventually loses in the primary. Male friends tell me it’s probably for the best because there’s just something they don’t like about her, you know?
I’m 49 and a man who said he grabs women by the pussy is elected as the 45th President of the United States. The night of the election, I feel physically ill and my first conscious thought is ‘my God, the Supreme Court.’ The next morning, I overhear two men laughing and congratulating each other about the election and I feel unsafe in my own country.
I’m 51 and another man who stands credibly accused of sexual assault has just been confirmed to serve on the Supreme Court. I see women on television sobbing, screaming, protesting, crying out in their anguish and their fear. I am so angry. I think of every woman I know and I am so angry.
I am any age, every age. I am a woman. I am a daughter. I am discounted. I am underrepresented. I am underestimated. But I am a voter. Today, that has to be enough.”

And maybe not because of: The Big Lie.

Leave a comment