Happy King Day

The SEVEN
by Mack Williams
18 January 2016

image

Radio veteran Dyana Williams put together this list of 15 classic songs in the link…so with Black History Month approaching, I did one as well. I went slightly over 15…which, as Bobby Brown might say, is My Prerogative (but not on my list).

Here is her list…

http://newblackman.blogspot.com/2015/06/blackmusicmatters-15-songs-every-lover.html?m=1

…and what follows is my response, which on the MLK holiday includes one song that I am certain was a particular favorite of Dr. King. Just like with the slew of Roxanne recordings in the mid ’80s, many different responses could be made. Here is one:

Michael Jackson – Man In The Mirror, Billie Jean

Tramaine Hawkins – The Potter’s House

Minnie Riperton – Inside My Love

Kirk Franklin – Why We Sing

Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five – The Message

Fred Hammond & Radical for Christ – You Are The Living Word

Temptations – Cloud Nine, My Girl

Marvin Gaye/Tammi Terrell – You’re All I Need To Get By

Common & John Legend – Glory

Isley Brothers – Make Me Say It Again Girl, For The Love of You

Walter Hawkins – Thank You

Notorious B.I.G. – Juicy/Mtume – Juicy Fruit

Lenny Kravitz – Fly Away

Jill Scott – A Long Walk

Stevie Wonder – Overjoyed, Do I Do

Herbie Hancock – Rockit

Leave a Reply

